Being arrested for a DUI in Puerto Rico can result in serious consequences. From possibly being imprisoned, to having your driver’s license suspended, it is wise to hire a Maryland DUI defense attorney to represent you throughout the criminal justice process. Our San Juan, PR DUI defense attorneys invite you to contact them here to discuss your DUI case in detail. Depending on the nature of the charge asserted against you, I may be able to have it reduced or completely dismissed. Read on to learn more about Puerto Rico DUI laws and how they can help you. You can also begin your free case consult by visiting @puertoricanlawyers.
Puerto Rico DUI Charges
In Puerto Rico, if a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is above the legal limit of .08%, he/she can be arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol. BAC refers to the amount of alcohol in a person’s blood. If your BAC is lower, you may still be arrested and charged with a lesser criminal offense.
Puerto Rico DUI Penalties & Fines
If you are charged with a DUI in Puerto Rico, you may face the following DUI penalties and fines:
- A 1st time offender can be sentenced to serve up to one year in jail.
- The offender will have to pay up to $1,000 in fines.
- An automatic driver’s license suspension will occur for up to one year.
- 12 points will be added to the driver’s license.
- A 2nd time offender can be sentenced to serve up to two years in jail.
- A subsequent offender will have to install an ignition interlock device.
- A subsequent offender is subject to an automatic driver’s license suspension up to one year.
- The offender will have to pay up to $2,000 in fines and attend an alcohol abuse assessment and program.
Puerto Rico Implied Consent Law
Maryland has an implied consent law. If a driver refuses to submit to a chemical test for BAC testing, his/her driver’s license will be automatically suspended for up to one year.
In addition to the criminal charges discussed above, you may also face administrative penalties. This entails a hearing held with the Office of Administrative Hearings. During the hearing, you will have the opportunity to show cause as to why his/her driver’s license should not be suspended. The hearing must be requested within 10 days of receiving an order of suspension. The fee to request an administrative hearing is $150. Once paid, you will receive a notice regarding the date and time of your hearing.
If you fail the chemical test, your driver’s license will be suspended for up to 45 days. Your license must be reinstated in order to drive without restrictions.
Hire Our Puerto Rico DUI Defense Attorneys
We invite you to contact our Puerto Rico DUI lawyers to discuss your DUI case. I may be able to obtain a favorable plea deal on your behalf. This entails having the charge asserted against you being reduced to a lower offense such as a DWI. Contact my law office for a confidential consultation. Do not go through the legal justice system without an attorney. More importantly, never admit to committing any crimes without first consulting a Puerto Rico DUI defense attorney. Contacting an attorney immediately following your arrest can help ensure your Constitutional rights are protected.
Serving all barrios and municipalities in Puerto Rico: Adjuntas, Aguada, Aguadilla, Aquas Buenas, Aibonito, Arecibo, Arroyo, Anasco, Barceloneta, Barranquitas, Bayamon, Cabo Rigo, Caguas, Camuy, Canovanas, Catano, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerio, Corozal, Culebra, Dorado, Fajardo, Florida, Guayama, Guayanilla, Guyanabo, Gurabo, Guanica, Hatillo, Hormigueros, Humacao, Isabela, Jayuya, Juana Diaz, Juncos, Lajas, Lares, Las Marias, Las Piedras, Loiza, Luquillo, Manati, Maricao, Maunabo, Mayaguez, Moca, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Penuelas, Ponce, Quebradillas, Rincon, Rio Grande, Sabana Grande, Salinas, San German, San Juan, San Lorenzo, San Sebastian, Santa Isabel, Toa Alta, Toa Baja, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Alta, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, Yabucoa & Yauco.